posted on April 3, 2010 at 2:02 am

sitting backstage at san juan gig
was touched today to read a book of reviews
that marty put together
people who reviewed bw2b for possible inclusion in our programme
oh yes
for our american gigs we have a programme
and we needed reviews for bw2b n we got loads
some of them beautifully written
some of the lovingly wrought
i was quite teary reading em
some amazing ones never got used
thanks to all concerned
very moving
sk

27 Responses to “bw2b book o reviews”

  1. avatar
    scott | 3 April 2010 at 2:25 am #

    Awesome Steve….. cant wait to read some of them. Headed out on the road in 5, to come see you and the guys in San Juan…. going to be awesome and epic I'm sure!!! Hope you play MORE than "one" song from each album, LOL…. cheers
    RST

  2. avatar
    Broken Toys and Heros | 3 April 2010 at 2:51 am #

    I know it has been a long and strange journey for u and the guys. 30 plus years and still going strong. ur devoted fan base that has been there thru all the trials and tribulations of a "rock band", hopefully speaking for some, have never judged u…lost musical perspective…or denounced u. the unconditional love and admiration that we feel transcends 4 guys making music, earning a living and gaining fame. if by any chance, we touch any of u emotionally, heartfelt admiration, is not because we are some fanboys or girls trying to fulfill our own egos- it is because we understand the importance of what u created (and continue to create) and on our end – will do our best that ur brilliance will last generations. if given the opportunity,i believe u would be astonished to read the reviews of each and every one of the church's gifts upon us. critics are what they are- many have their own agendas, but true fans…ones from the beginning or if they just discovered u yesterday, do not discriminate or judge accordingly. we are thankful for what u are doing and for what u have done. we wish u well today and every day in the future. we write real reviews. we can only wish that father time would smile and take a few steps back- so we can experience the treasure that is "the church" for even more days to come.

    wishing u the best with all ur 30th anniversary shows…good health and happiness…and see you in 2 weeks in chicago.

    a fan forever,

    DJK082067

  3. avatar
    Anonymous | 3 April 2010 at 3:14 am #

    And it's all from the heart, m'lad.

    Good luck on the upcoming tour.
    Once more into the breach…

  4. avatar
    cazziem | 3 April 2010 at 5:35 am #

    See SK, just goes to show how much you are loved and appreciated by heaven knows how many people. I know I’ve said it before, but as all these words just seem to explode from within, you perhaps don’t realise the impact they have on those of us that have the intelligence to be draw to the church, you and your amazing creativity.

    Maybe on those days when Mr/Mrs anon wants to burst you balloon, you shouldn’t respond yourself, just copy one of these reviews!

  5. avatar
    eek | 3 April 2010 at 7:30 am #

    It has to be really rewarding to know how much people get from what you create.

    I often enjoy reading fan reviews of albums I already have and like/love because they often remind me why I like it so, or they encourage me to give those songs which didn't quite click with me another chance. I hope these reviews get posted somewhere so all can read them.

    And of course you have a program for the US tour — we're special! 🙂

    Hope the first show went well! It might take a few shows to iron out all the kinks, and that's ok. You just need to be really "on" by the 17th. 😉

  6. avatar
    Hellbound Heart | 3 April 2010 at 9:24 am #

    any chance that us aussies can get our hands on a copy of this book? pretty please?
    love always….

  7. avatar
    fantasticandy | 3 April 2010 at 11:01 am #

    one of your best!
    so many great things on it…….

  8. avatar
    Anonymous | 3 April 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    .Whatever. I'm ready to buy something new. Hope something good is on the DMH single. Add a new tune to the list! I'm in line for an iPad and really hungover. Reading the blog to kill the time being… Thanks.

  9. avatar
    princey | 3 April 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    I don't think mine made the cut, but its nice to know Marty actually took the time to read ALL of them and it's nice to know you did too sk:)

    Happy Easter to you and all the fiends out there!

  10. avatar
    restaurant mark | 3 April 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    i enjoyed writing mine…hope you enjoyed reading it…

    love ya man
    griffo

  11. avatar
    Lotus | 3 April 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    What I'd have said is simply this:

    "In a better world, the Church is playing Wembley Stadium, and the capacity crowd is singling along with the chorus of 'Pearls.'"

    Close your eyes, and you can see it…

    Happy Easter to you all, with all the hope and fulfillment the holiday entails –

  12. avatar
    Anonymous | 3 April 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    Heya Killer.. awesome, monumental show last night.. thank you for playing Fly and MLP and Invisable..oh btw the intermission was breath taking.. what a concept

  13. avatar
    Anonymous | 3 April 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    Hey Steve, I was there last night @ the Coach house Thank you so much for the program,Ep and what I consider to be the best Church show I've seen (6 under my belt) Loved the set list, you had me cracking up last night ( I'm stealing the cheating Drill joke)my little heart dropped when I saw my review in the program for El Mo Sig; So I've been listening to DMH EP wow I can't decide which is my new favorite Church song Stardust or The Gardner; you and the guys continue to inspire me; Love you guys have a great tour and once again THANK YOU- The Church Forever!!! Jim Wood

  14. avatar
    fandorin | 3 April 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    sorry my review didnt meet the dead man's deadline. so much to say about BW2B…and so little words to use…

  15. avatar
    davem | 3 April 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    The greatest band in the world.

  16. avatar
    Broken Toys and Heros | 3 April 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    Hello out there…

    If anyone who reads sk's blog would be kind enough to review the first concert on 04/02 and also a detailed setlist for us- that would be great. any interesting and amusing interactions with the crowd by the band would also be entertaining to read.

    Thanks,

    DJK082067

    come on people…its "the church"…i thought there would have been many reviews already. maybe the bloggers who did attend last nights show are still sleeping from all the excitement and partying…in that case – WELL DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  17. avatar
    Debbysofuckinwhat! | 4 April 2010 at 2:23 am #

    My friend Miss Nora liked my disc Bw/2B SO MUCH! She couldn't BEAR to part with it!

  18. avatar
    Montero | 4 April 2010 at 3:48 am #

    The setlist has been posted over at http://hotelwomb.yuku.com/

    Quite an evening!

  19. avatar
    Anonymous | 4 April 2010 at 4:39 am #

    Happy Easter sk. I'm sure there'll be a few choccie bunnies for you when you get home.

    Saw you on Rage last night when I got home singing "that song". What a nice nightcap to see the boys when you're so far away. Made me smile.

    Enjoy the gigs, hope they all go really well.

    Love
    Lady Di

  20. avatar
    Big Smiles Kate | 4 April 2010 at 6:43 am #

    I saw it too then said to my love, time for bed now, nothing better coming on! I was out with him today and found a bookshop open. I now have "No Certainty Attached" What a great Easter gift. Just home, have to do a few chores, then it's the couch and those very glossy pages will be turning in my eager hands.

    Can we have some set lists? Would love to know your pics from each album but understand you don't want to spoil it for those who haven't seen you yet.

    Too gutless to write a review of BW2B but I do love it and you know I love you.

    Big Smiles
    Kate
    xoxo

  21. avatar
    Anonymous | 4 April 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    The band have been posting some of the reviews to their Facebook discussion page.

  22. avatar
    veleska1970 | 4 April 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    happy easter to you and the guys, steve!!

  23. avatar
    glynnisjohns | 4 April 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    Set was mindblowing.
    Thank you!

    -glynnis

  24. avatar
    david duchow | 4 April 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    here's a heads up for anyone who is going to be in Paris this summer (from May 7 to August 1)… or in Charleville France from Sept. 15 to Dec 15…. my video of Season in Hell, with Steve reciting the poem, is being shown in the multi media section of the major exhibition – Rimbaudmania. Check it out if you happen to be in that part of the world.

    DD

    http://www.rimbaudmania.fr/boutique_us/liste_rayons.cfm?code_lg=lg_us

  25. avatar
    davem | 5 April 2010 at 10:33 am #

    Guys – you can read some of them at the bands myspace page.
    I would post a link but I'm a technophobe!!

  26. avatar
    davem | 5 April 2010 at 10:35 am #

    http://blogs.myspace.com/thechurchbandofficial

  27. avatar
    knot | 5 April 2010 at 11:19 pm #

    oi!

    of course i have family that i rarely see in town tomorrow night. i can't make the san francisco show.

    however, i will have time to dash over in the afternoon with some vegan goodies before i put people back on the plane to louisiana.

    much love & peace
    knot


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.